Kate Bush: New album 50 Words for Snow to be released in November

Posted on 12 September 2011
By Richard Lewis
  • Share:

Kate Bush has announced her second album release of the year, her first collection of new material in six years.

New LP 50 Words for Snow is due for release on November 21st, the winter issue date appropriate for the snow-themed album. See below for full tracklisting.

Despite featuring only seven tracks, the album clocks in at 65 minutes long and follows in the tradition of songs based around a central theme by the singer.

The second half of landmark 1985 Hounds of Love was a six track suite about drowning entitled The Ninth Wave.

2005’s Aerial meanwhile was split into two discs, A Sea of Honey and A Sky of Honey.

50 Words for Snow will be the first set of original material to be released on the singer’s own record label, Fish People.

The LP follows the successful Director’s Cut album, released earlier this year.

Director’s Cut was a collection of re-imagined versions of songs from 1989 album The Sensual World and 1993’s The Red Shoes.

With a gap between new albums of six years, the songstress has been relatively swift following up the critically acclaimed Aerial which was released 12 years after her previous LP.

50 Words for Snow will be the singer’s tenth album in a career spanning 33 years, which began with her debut single Wuthering Heights topping the UK chart in 1978.

The singer is highly unlikely to return to the stage to promote the record, as she revealed to BBC 6Music earlier in the year.

The Wuthering Heights singer said, “I haven’t got any plans to do any live shows whatsoever. I’m extremely flattered that people are interested.”

Despite one-off live appearances, the singer has yet to tour since her debut outing The Tour of Life in 1979, which earned ecstatic reviews.

Full tracklisting for 50 Words for Snow

Lake Tahoe
Snowed In At Wheeler Street
50 Words For Snow
Among Angels