Jethro Tull launch video for Hammer On Hammer, new album out 21st of April

Posted on 6 April 2023
By Khyle Deen
  • Share:

Jethro Tull are set to release their 23rd studio album, ‘RökFlöte’, on the 21st April 2023 via InsideOutMusic

Following 2022’s ‘The Zealot Gene’, the band’s first album in two decades, Ian Anderson and the band are returning with a 12-track record based on the characters and roles of some of the principle gods of the old Norse paganism, and at the same time exploring the ‘RökFlöte’ – rock flute – which Jethro Tull has made iconic.

With just over two weeks to go till release, today they are pleased to launch the third single taken from the album. Watch the video for ‘Hammer On Hammer’ (by Christian Rios) in our video box.

The track takes inspiration from the god Thor, a loyal & honourable warrior who wears a powerful symbolic belt and wields a hammer. His mortal enemy & nemesis was Jormungand the sea-serpent.

It was also recently announced that ‘RökFlöte’ would receive its premiere in Dolby Atmos immersive audio on the 17th April at Dolby Studios in London. The special event will see Ian Anderson in attendance alongside Bruce Soord who undertook the mixing for this spatial audio version.

‘RökFlöte’ will be available on several different formats, including two limited deluxe formats that include bonus demo material, extensive liner notes & a blu-ray featuring Dolby Atmos, 5.1 surround sound, alternative stereo mixes by Bruce Soord (The Pineapple Thief), as well as a bonus track and in-depth interview with Ian Anderson. The album will also be available digitally in the spatial audio formats Dolby Atmos & Sony 360 RA. The full list of formats are below:

Ltd Deluxe Dark Red 2LP+2CD+Blu-ray Artbook incl. 2 x art-prints
Ltd Deluxe 2CD+Blu-ray Artbook
Special Edition CD Digipak
Gatefold 180g LP+LP-booklet
Digital Album

Pre-order now here

1. Voluspo
2. Ginnungagap
3. Allfather
4. The Feathered Consort
5. Hammer On Hammer
6. Wolf Unchained
7. The Perfect One
8. Trickster (And The Mistletoe)
9. Cornucopia
10. The Navigators
11. Guardian’s Watch
12. Ithavoll