Brooklyn new-soul collective Herbivores unveil highly-anticipated self-titled EP

Posted on 10 July 2020
By Khyle Deen
  • Share:

HERBIVORES is the exciting neo-soul project from seasoned independent New York musicians, producers and songwriters Bel-Ami, Redddaz, Misha ‘Silky’ Savage, and Will Sacks.

Formed under a year ago, the Brooklyn soul collective have already been making a name for themselves across New York’s live music circuit, headlining and selling out the city’s top music venues such as Brooklyn Bowl and Elsewhere (Zone One), among others.

After teasing fans and critics alike with a slew of singles last year, which have seen the Brooklyn hybrid collective garner strong support from the likes of Word Is Bond Magazine, Chill Select, and WPKN Radio, while landing a sync licensing deal with BMG/Fieldhouse and solidifying their status as a fast rising prolific songwriting and music-making powerhouse, HERBIVORES are back just in time for the summer, with their highly anticipated self-titled debut EP Herbivores.

Produced by Will Sacks and Misha Savage, and mastered by Joe Lambert, who has previously worked with LCD Soundsystem, Sofi Tukker, Animal Collective, and Sharon Van Etten, among others, the Herbivores EP is led by lush vibrant R&B, funk and neo-soul compositions that will remind you of early D’Angelo, as well as Anderson .Paak, and Childish Gambino, over which vocalists Bel-Ami and Redddaz capture the listeners attention with their exquisite vocal performances, infectious melodies, and captivating storytelling.

Stream the EP –

Thematically, the EP opens with ‘Kinda Like A Crush’ and ‘90 Degree Bae’, which both serve as the perfect starters for the classic boy meets girl story of the Herbivores project, from the first kiss to those first summer infatuation moments, culminating in the feel-good morning love song ‘6AM’ and the confessional love affirming ‘Like U’, but the EP also explores the trepidation phase of a new relationship, when things start to feel a bit unsure on ‘Ghosts’, with the EP closing out with the eternally hopeful ‘Running In Place’.

Speaking about the inspiration behind their Herbivores EP, the collective say, “this project is inspired by where love begins and starts to blossom into something that could be amazing. The Herbivores sound reflects the stages of a romance as easons of the year, and this EP – the first of two projects we are releasing this year , the second being ‘Nightshades’ for the autumn – represents the spring and summer months, with the record beginning with flirtatious blossoms and waning into an emotional first harvest.

The link between the seasons and the weather is just as strong as the link between seasons and us as creatives. Painters use certain colours to convey emotion in their paintings, and for us, these songs are our palette, with the EP serving as a small first part of a much larger mural that is Herbivores. These six songs are the tracks that we found most uplifting out of all the music we’ve been making recently, and the music has poured out of us so easily and so quickly, the inspiration really has been each other and our cumulative experience of learning to love in this great city of New York”.

1. Kinda Like A Crush
2. 90 Degree Bae
3. Ghosts
4. 6AM
5. Like U
6. Running In Place