BBC 6Music faves Airship announce debut Album and UK Tour Details

Posted on 5 July 2011
By Richard Lewis
  • Share:

Manchester band Airship, who are currently being backed by BBC 6Music in a big way have announced details of their debut album and a mammoth 24 date UK tour.

The dates will see the quartet take their music to the people this winter, in a tour covering the length and breadth of the UK.

Recent touring partners of The Joy Formidable, things kick off at Nice ‘N’ Sleazy’s, Glasgow on 11th September and wind up at the MET Lounge in Peterborough on 11th November.

The band will descend into The Hold at Liverpool’s Shipping Forecast on September 15th.

The band are currently preparing for the release of debut album Stuck in This Ocean on 5th September through Play It Again Sam.

Recorded at the legendary Rockfield Studios, where classics by Oasis, Manic Street Preachers and Suede were created, acclaimed producer Dan Austin was in charge of the recording desk.

Best known for his work with Doves and Cherry Ghost, also on hand during the sessions were Rebelski, who serves as Doves’ ambient programmer and Editors’ guitarist Chris Urbanowicz.

The eleven track LP includes recent single Kids, the cut that attracted the attention of BBC 6Music, landing the group on their playlist.

The tour dates are as follows,

Sun 11 Sept – Glasgow Nice’N’Sleazys
Mon 12 Sept – Sunderland Independent
Tue 13 Sept – Manchester Kings Arms
Thu 15 Sept – Liverpool Shipping Forecast
Fri 16 Sept – Leicester Musician
Sun 18 Sept – Bristol Louisiana
Mon 19 Sept – Cambridge Haymakers
Tue 20 Sept – London Old Blue Last
Wed 21 Sept – Brighton Green Door Store
Sat 22 Oct – Tunbridge Wells Forum
Sun 23 Oct – Southampton Joiners
Mon 24 Oct – Guildford The Boilerroom
Tue 25 Oct – Birmingham Rainbow
Thu 27 Oct – Cardiff Ten Feet Tall
Sat 29 Oct – Dundee Beat Generator
Sun 30 Oct – Edinburgh Cabaret Voltaire
Tue 1 Nov – Aberdeen Cafe Drummonds
Wed 2 Nov – Inverness Mad Hatters
Thu 3 Nov – Carlisle Brickyard
Fri 4 Nov – Newcastle Other Rooms
Sun 6 Nov – Sheffield Harley
Mon 7 Nov – York Stereo
Tue 8 Nov – Nottingham Bodega
Wed 9 Nov – Leeds Nation of Shopkeepers
Fri 11 Nov – Peterborough Met. Lounge

Tickets for the tour are on sale now through Seetickets.com

www.airshipband.com