2017 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nominated inductees announced: Pearl Jam, Journey, Electric Light Orchestra, Joan Baez and Tupac Shakur are among some

Posted on 20 December 2016
By Ellie Gregory
  • Share:

Nominated for next year’s induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame are first time participants Pearl Jam, Journey, Electric Light Orchestra, Joan Baez and Tupac Shakur.

The 32nd annual Rock Hall induction ceremony will be taking place on April 7th at the Barclays Centre in Brooklyn.

Up against these artists will be three-time nominee ‘Yes’ at the 2017 event, making it a fierce competition.

Trevor Rabin, the former singer and guitarist of ‘Yes’, told Billboard: “I’m feeling very grateful about the news of Yes getting inducted into the Hall of Fame.

“Yes is a band that pioneered a genre and has always been eclectic in nature, and we’ve been so lucky to have such amazing and supportive fans that we have championed Yes music in all of its forms

“It is with incredible pride that we accept this honour.”

After two previous nominations, Yes drummer, Alan White, said: “It’s a great pleasure to be recognised for something you have been doing all of your life and get recognition in the industry for the amount of work you have put in, and to have done something that changed the course of history.”

Topping this year’s fan ballot, conducted by the Rock Hall, was Journey with 250,758.

Jonathan Cain, keyboardist for Journey, has officially been inducted into the 2017 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

He said: “I think it was patience

“We just had to be patient

“I figured it would come around.”

ELO, Pearl Jam and Yes were also in the top five, as they received a vote from more than 900 Rock Hall voters.

Receiving the Award for Musical Excellence at next year’s induction ceremony will be Chic’s frontman, Nile Rodgers, after the band being 11-time nominees,

Chic were up against some huge names in the music industry, such as multi award-winning Chaka Khan, as well as Depeche Mode.

The 2017 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame tickets will be going on sale in January, and members will receive access to exclusive pre-sale tickets.

The Rock and Roll does not stop there.

In honour of the Hall of Fame 2017 inductees, there will be a special exhibition on March 20th at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Museum in Cleveland.

As this will be hosted over in the States, the ceremony will be broadcasted live on SiriusXM, and later telecasted on HBO.