Hot Chip add second night at O2 Academy Brixton

Posted on 27 July 2015
By Khyle Deen
  • Share:

Following an appearance at Lovebox at the weekend, Hot Chip have confirmed a second headline show at London’s O2 Academy Brixton due to demand on Friday 23rd October.

Hot Chip released their latest album Why Make Sense? in May to critical acclaim. Why Make Sense? features the acclaimed singles Huarache Lights (watch the video HERE) and Need You Now (watch the video HERE) alongside the recently released title track – streamed via a mock-up news website coinciding with the UK’s general election (stream the track HERE) – and Burning Up (watch the video HERE), taken from a bonus EP, Separate EP, released with a special edition of the album available to pre-order from iTunes now HERE.

Why Make Sense? was recorded in Oxfordshire and London and produced by Hot Chip with Mark Ralph and mixed by the band, David Wrench (FKA Twigs, Caribou) and Jimmy Douglass (Timbaland, Aaliyah). The album features guest appearances from De La Soul’s Posdnuos and Scritti Politti’s Green Gartside (Love Is The Future), as well as live instrumentation and backing vocals from touring band members Sarah Jones and Rob Smaughton.

Hot Chip are in the midst of a series of worldwide tour dates culminating in an extended run of shows including two shows at London’s O2 Academy Brixton in October.

The band have made a number of high profile festival appearances including Glastonbury, Lollapalooza, Sonar, Green Man and many more.

“Hot Chip are among the greatest modern pop acts.” – The Guardian

“Hot Chip’s longevity is proof positive that you can build a band around the concept of “emotional intelligence.” – Pitchfork

“With total belief in their worth, they re-introduce stylings seldom seen on contemporary dance albums.” – Mixmag – Album of The Month

“Another infectious addition to the quintet’s canon – which, 15 years into their career, continues to grow into a hard-drive’s worth of dance classics.” – NME

Forthcoming live dates are as follows with UK dates in bold. Support on the October UK headline dates comes from new Domino signing Georgia (all dates except London) and Lonelady (London 22nd only)

Sat 25 July – Russia, Moscow, Afisha Picnic Festival
Fri 31 July – USA, Chicago, IL, Lollapalooza
Sun 2 Aug – Canada, Quebec, Osheaga Festival
Fri 7 Aug – Canada, British Columbia, Squamish Valley Music Festival
Sun 9 Aug – USA, San Francisco, CA, San Francisco’s Outside Land
Tue 11 Aug – USA, Los Angeles, CA, The Greek Theatre (plus special guests ‘!!!’ and Com Truise)
Fri 21 Aug – UK, Crickhowell, Green Man Festival
Sat 22 Aug – Netherlands, Biddinghuizen, Lowlands Festival
Sat 29 Aug – Switzerland, Zurich, Zurich Openair Festival
Sun 30 Aug – France, Paris, Rock En Seine Festival
Sat 5 Sept – Ireland, Stradbally, Electric Picnic
Sat 12 Sept – Germany, Berlin, Lollapalooza Berlin

Tues 13 Oct – UK, Bristol, O2 Academy (w/ Georgia)
Wed 14 Oct – UK, Portsmouth, Pyramid Centre (w/ Georgia)
Fri 16 Oct – UK, Glasgow, Barrowland (w/ Georgia)
Sat 17 Oct – UK, Manchester, Albert Hall (w/ Georgia)
Sun 18 Oct – UK, Leeds, Beckett University (w/ Georgia)
Tue 20 Oct – UK, Nottingham, Rock City (w/ Georgia)
Wed 21 Oct – UK, Cambridge, Corn Exchange (w/ Georgia)
Thu 22 Oct – UK, London, O2 Academy Brixton (w/ Lonelady) SOLD OUT
Fri 23 Oct – UK, London, O2 Academy Brixton – tickets onsale Thursday at 10am at http://gigst.rs/HotChip and ticketweb.co.uk / 0844 477 2000

Tickets available now from http://live.hotchip.co.uk/

Why Make Sense? track listing is as follows:

1. Huarache Lights
2. Love Is The Future
3. Cry For You
4. Started Right
5. White Wine and Fried Chicken
6. Dark Night
7. Easy To Get
8. Need You Now
9. So Much Further To Go
10. Why Make Sense?