Mark Knopfler releases eighth solo album Privateering on September 3rd

Posted on 11 August 2012
By Jo Ching
  • Share:

Ex-Dire Straits front-man Mark Knopfler is set to release his eighth solo album, Privateering on Mercury Records on September 3rd.

Mark Knopfler was recently presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award at this year’s Ivor Novellos.

This is the artist’s first double album, each song is an original. The tracks cover a wide range of locations and characters from both sides of the Atlantic and move through a number of genres which include several new blues originals.

Privateering is a soulful and heartfelt collection masterfully performed by a group of world class players.

In addition to what has become Knopfler’s long-time band, hand-picked guest aces include Kim Wilson (harp) of the Fabulous Thunderbirds, Tim O’Brien (mandolin), singer Ruth Moody of The Wailin’ Jennys, Paul Franklin (pedal steel) and Scotland’s Phil Cunningham (accordion).

20 new titles were recorded at the artist’s British Grove Studios in London with the following players: Richard Bennett (guitar), Jim Cox (piano) Guy Fletcher (keyboards), John McCusker (fiddle), Mike McGoldrick (whistle and flute), Glenn Worf (bass) and Ian Thomas (drums). Knopfler was assisted by co-producers Guy Fletcher and Chuck Ainlay.

Mark Knopfler is one of the most critically and commercially successful artists of all time. He has already sold in excess of 135 million records and has received countless awards and honours including an OBE and several Grammy Awards.

Disc 1
1. Redbud Tree
2. Haul Away
3. Don’t Forget Your Hat
4. Privateering
5. Miss You Blues
6. Corned Beef City
7. Go, Love
8. Hot Or What
9. Yon Two Crows
10. Seattle

Disc 2
1. Kingdom Of Gold
2. Got To Have Something
3. Radio City Serenade
4. I Used To Could
5. Gator Blood
6. Bluebird
7. Dream Of The Drowned Submariner
8. Blood And Water
9. Today Is Okay
10. After The Beanstalk