LCD Soundsystem, Tame Impala, Chvrches & many more for Roskilde Festival 2016

Posted on 25 January 2016
By Khyle Deen
  • Share:

The reunited LCD Soundsystem will grace the stage at Roskilde Festival this summer and Danish popstar MØ will play an exclusive show on the iconic Orange Stage. Other announcements today include Tame Impala, Ghost, Chvrches and Destroyer.

With today’s additions, 53 acts of a total of 175 have been announced, revealing more of the already diverse line-up of headliners and the stars of tomorrow from all over the world.
New Order, PJ Harvey, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Wiz Khalifa and Tenacious D are just some of the acts already announced for Roskilde Festival 2016. They will be joined by LCD Soundsystem, MØ, Tame Impala, CHVRCHES, Savages, Destroyer, Ghost, Floating Points and many more.
LCD Soundsystem back after five years

2015 ended with rumours of a possible reunion, and early in 2016 the LCD Soundsystem frontman James Murphy finally confirmed that the band will be playing shows and recording a new album – their first album since 2010’s “This Is Happening”.

With their three albums from 2005-2015 the band created a unique blend of disco and punk-infused party rock, delivering hits such as Daft Punk Is Playing at My House, All My Friends and Drunk Girls. Following five years of silence, the party is set to restart at Roskilde Festival’s biggest stage, the iconic Orange Stage.

Head of Programme Anders Wahrén says:

“LCD Soundsystem’s reunion almost came out of the blue, and we didn’t dare to believe the initial rumours. We’re happy to be part of this reunion, presenting them for the third time at Roskilde Festival. Unlike many other bands, LCD Soundsystem pulled the plug at the very height of their success, and they won’t just play shows, they’ll also treat us to a new album. We’re fully convinced that they’ll live up to the massive expectations.”

LCD Soundsystem played the Danish festival in 2007 and 2010.

Danish popstar MØ has shown the world that one can rise to the top without compromises. Doing things her own way she’s turned into a bonafide pop star in her own right, smashing another record last year for “most streamed song ever” on Spotify with her single Lean On, co-written with Major Lazer and DJ Snake (more than 630 million streams).

At the beginning of her career, MØ was booked to play Roskilde Festival’s smallest stage, and she will now return to the festival where her pop star status was cemented. MØ is currently working on her second album.

New additions also include Australia’s very own Tame Impala, widely acclaimed electronic acts such as Floating Points and Recondite, post-punk favourites Savages, electro-pop highlight CHVRCHES, beloved sophisto-pop artist Destroyer and many more.

These 21 acts have been announced for Roskilde Festival 2016 today:

LCD Soundsystem (US)
Ghost (S)
Kvelertak (N)
S!vas (DK)
Tame Impala (AUS)
Birdy Nam Nam (F)
Chvrches (UK)
Destroyer (CA)
DJ Paypal (DE)
First Hate (DK)
Floating Points UK)
Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes (UK)
Gaye Su Akyol (TR)
Klub 27 (DK)
The Minds of 99 (DK)
Palace Winter (DK)
Protomartyr (US)
Recondite (DE)
Savages (UK)
Tal National (NE)

Including today’s additions a total of 54 artists have been revealed for Roskilde Festival 2016, and many more will soon be announced. The full line-up will be announced in April.

See all the announced acts here:

A total of 175 acts from all over the world will play Roskilde Festival 2016. 32 acts have now been revealed.

Roskilde Festival is 8 days long, from Saturday 25 June till Saturday 2 July 2016.

For this year’s edition, 75,000 full festival tickets and 20,000 one-day tickets have been put up for sale.

Tickets can be bought on