House Gospel Choir release 6 track EP featuring 3 new mixes of latest single titled You

Posted on 7 July 2024
By Khyle Medany
  • Share:

The internationally successful and acclaimed vocal ensemble House Gospel Choir continue to celebrate a glorious decade with the release of a six track EP of latest single ‘YOU’, containing three fresh, new mixes hot of the mixing desk.

Leading the charge is the ‘fromLondon Extended Mix’ a deeper cut for the club, at over 4 minutes long, with soulful house rhythms, accompanied by the bumping ‘fromLondon SE15 Dub’ version for the dancefloor, both created by producer fromLondon. Alongside these is a stunning soulful new ‘Acoustic’ version with gorgeous, soaring instrumentation created by House Gospel Choir DJ and Musical Director Harrsn, alongside the ‘Instrumental’ and ‘Acapella’ versions. Fresh from performing Sunday Service at Chaka Khan’s Meltdown at the end of June, the EP is released on House Gospel Choir founder Natalie Maddix’s new label Swear Down Music.

‘YOU’ is a perfect slice of soul-stirring harmonies and uplifting house vibes. The track grows in energy with its infectious and empowering chorus “You have got the strength, it’s always been you, have got the fight, you know what to do, with all this love it’s all up to you, have got this, you have got it”. ‘YOU’ is an original track written by Maddix, HGC co-writers and up and coming producer fromLondon (Melle Brown, Nervous Records, Sara Devine) and is the first single taken from the House Gospel Choir’s forthcoming second studio album ‘LOVE IS THE MESSAGE’, an album carrying HGC’s core philosophy of love, joy, peace and unity. The album is released on 9th August, followed by an album launch party at Ton Of Brix, Brixton on Saturday 17th August.

‘LOVE IS THE MESSAGE’ is a stunning sonic journey seeing HGC spread its message of love through a collection of 11 tracks, comprising inspired covers of three classics; ‘Promised Land’, arguably house music’s most legendary track featuring the voice of its original creator Joe Smooth, the Sounds of Blackness 1991 essential ‘Optimistic’ with Beverley Knight lending her powerful, soulful vocals, and 1995 chart-topper ‘Dreamer’ with original artist Janice Robinson of Livin’ Joy. The remainder of the album comprises original material of pure, soulful house bangers, including four tracks which have been produced by main collaborators Rudimental who have created instant classic house anthems in ‘GLOW’, ‘Shall Not Be Moved’, ‘No Better Friend’ and ‘FIRE’. HGC take it all the way to church to close the album with the rousing, anthemic title track ‘A Vow (Love Is The Message)’ and emotive, gospel ballad ‘Glory!’.

‘YOU’ EP Tracklisting

YOU (Radio Edit)
YOU (fromLondon Extended Mix)
YOU (Acoustic)
YOU (fromLondon SE15 Dub)
YOU (Acapella)
YOU (Instrumental)

‘Love Is The Message’ – Album Tracklisting
Promised Land (feat. Joe Smooth)
Shall Not Be Moved
Dreamer (feat. Janice Robinson)
No Better Friend
Glow (feat. Rudimental & Afronaut Zu)
Good God
Optimistic (feat. Beverly Knight)
A Vow (Love Is The Message)

Stream the You EP here