‘Ramblepunk’ from MINAS on new angst single ”B&R’

Posted on 9 September 2022
By Khyle Deen
  • Share:

Following on from the release of his highly-praised offerings ‘Fight One’ and ‘Payday’ throughout last year, UK rap/hip-hop artist Minas are back to deliver their impactful new egotistical-centred single ‘B&R’.

The release coincides with Minas’ new album release date, ‘All My Love Has Failed Me’, slated for 11th November. The 12-strong track album features previously released singles ‘Payday’, ‘Foreign’ and ‘Fight One’.

Continuing to explore the raw and pulsing direction they have cultivated for themselves these last few years, single ‘B&R’ makes for a triumphantly distorted and catchy rant-driven track. Consisting of a sample from an old 80’s rock ballad, the distorted strings sit underneath Minas’ vocals, in which he chants “Wish I was born and raised for free”. Minas calls the track ‘ramblepunk’, summing up how he rants about various things he’s confused or annoyed about.

Speaking about the new offering, band leader James Minas said, “This is one of the fastest songs I’ve ever written, as in it probably took me an hour. I had the first line in my head for a while: ‘It’s like two clashing skulls made of rusted iron / I’m a lion and you’re a mouse / This country’s my house and your ass will be handed to you in advance’. It’s basically a crappy description of Boris Johnson and Donald Trump and how their messed up ego sounds. The song is essentially an introduction to my writing style on a lot of this album”.

Minas is the project from Greek/Welsh producer & musician James Minas, alongside rhythm section the Davies Brothers.

Minas grew up in the circus with parents who were heavily involved in the 1980’s punk scene and then moved to secondary school in the Welsh Valleys. His music draws from the boredom and shenanigans that took place. The songs reveal stories of a checkered past over a mix of deep melodic soundscapes and loud, aggressive impacts. Covering subjects from his personal struggles with mental health (“My heart was giving my ribs a kicking”) to disillusionment (“Three pound meal deals feeding my mates”). Minas holds a mirror up to society, trying to understand it. As a respected producer, James is working to build a new sound for the South Wales scene with a number of artists and genres. However, as an artist, Minas presents his own brutal honesty and lays open a vulnerability for all to hear.

“A good lyrical noise, veering from Burial to Shellac” – Steve Lamacq

“…their songs combine heavy rhythms with fuzzy melody. Tearing the place to shreds, they also
leave a fascinating, very unforgettable snapshot.” – Clash Magazine

‘…his music captures an array of sound, intertwining both rap and electronic. Each tune takes us on a voyage through his state of mind, from frustrations to anger and the inevitable self-reflection afterwards.’ – God Is In The TV Zine

“No, do not expect the Bee Gees, expect a mean dance-punk machine à la Liars, causing a local
earthquake.” – turnupthevolume

“There’s a new kind of punk music in town, and it sounds like it’s made by former factory workers on cheap computers. In many ways, it is the most honest representation of the Western world.” – alt77

Minas’ new single ‘B&R’ is available to stream now via Libertino. The band’s highly-anticipated album ‘All My Love Has Failed Me’ is to follow and will be released on the 11th November.

A L B U M – (FOREVER) – Tracklist
1. B&R
2. All My Love Has Failed Me
3. Foreign
4. Payday
5. Shush
6. Protests
7. Fight One
8. Stress
9. Needs, Wants
10. I’ve Covered My Hands In This
11. Belly Down
12. Drinker (Reprise)