An Evening with Todd Rundgren Live at The Ridgefield DVD / CD Review

Posted on 22 September 2016
By Chris High
  • Share:

Weighing in at 26 tracks on the DVD and 18 on the CD, An Evening with Todd Rundgren
Live at the Ridgefield is certainly a meaty package. It is also combined set of something that is really quite special in that it is guaranteed to not only appeal to stalwart Rundgren buffs but also those new to his work.

This is a celebration of the great man’s tour of 2015, with the gig which took place Ridgefield in Connecticut in December 2015. With a set list that opens with I Saw The Light before easing with all the power of a turbo into Love Of The Common Man, you know you have a winner on your hands almost straight away.

The sound on both the CD and the DVD is beautifully mastered, which both captures some of the tension the guitarist / vocalist may well have been feeling at the beginning, but also illustrates that this gradually disappears so that by the time we reach Lost Horizon, Rundgren is at home and truly feeling the groove in a way that is both accomplished and powerful, resonant more of a man in his forties than one in his late 60s.

Then there is the camera work on the DVD, which brings us up close and personal so that the finger work fun both Rundgren and Jesse Gress are having on out-and-out blues tracks such as Kiddie Boy are deliciously and vibrantly illustrated. A fact made all the more demonstrative – along with the appreciation of the intimacy of the venue – during Black Maria, which is arguably the stand out track of the set.

If there is a complaint with the CD, it lies in the Soul Medley which, while all very nice, does seem to sit somewhat awkwardly in surroundings of some fine rock blues creations. This is a minor quibble, however, one that smacks of personal taste which can be easily rebuffed. Overall An Evening with Todd Rungdren Live at The Ridgefield is a quality addition to the Live Release oeuvre that is guaranteed to rekindle the spirit of the evening for those fortunate enough to be there in person – or indeed on the tour – and also encourage newbies to venture forth and grab tickets the next time Todd hits the road.

An Evening with Todd Rundgren
Live at The Ridgefield
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: CD+DVD
Label: Cleopatra Records
Other Editions: Vinyl | MP3 Download
26th August, 2016

Band Line-up:

Todd Rundgren (guitar and vocals)
John Ferenzik (keyboards and vocals)
Jesse Gress (guitar and vocals)
Prairie Prince (drums)
Kasim Sulton (bass and vocals)

Track Listings
Disc: 1 (CD)
1. I Saw The Light
2. Love Of The Common Man
3. Open My Eyes
4. Sometimes I Don’t Know What To Feel
5. Black And White
6. Buffalo Grass
7. Determination
8. Lost Horizon
9. Bang The Drum All Day
10. Kiddie Boy
11. Black Maria
12. Drive
13. Secret Society
14. Love In Action
15. Couldn’t I Just Tell You
16. Can We Still Be Friends
17. Hello It’s Me
18. One World (Tracks 1-18 on CD format)

Disc: 2 (DVD)
1. Intro / I Saw The Light
2. Love Of The Common Man
3. Open My Eyes
4. Remarks
5. Sometimes I Don’t Know What To Feel
6. Black And White
7. Love Science
8. Buffalo Grass
9. Determination
10. Lost Horizon
11. Bang The Drum All Day
12. Soothe
13. Kiddie Boy
14. Black Maria
15. God Said
16. Drive
17. I’m So Proud
18. Ooh Baby Baby
19. I Want You
20. Secret Society
21. Love In Action
22. Couldn’t I Just Tell You
23. Can We Still Be Friends
24. Hello It’s Me
25. One World
26. Credits

Notice: Undefined index: query in /home/purplerevolver/public_html/wp-content/themes/purple-revolver/single.php on line 57

Notice: Undefined index: v in /home/purplerevolver/public_html/wp-content/themes/purple-revolver/single.php on line 58